Department of Medical, Health and Family Welfare, Government of Uttar Pradesh, is playing a vital role in improving the health status & quality of living of the People of Uttar Pradesh.

With the objective of providing health services in Urban and Remote areas, the department provides medical services in the state of Uttar Pradesh.

Chief Medical Officer(CMO) is responsible for all the works related to health department. He is also the in-charge of the District Hospital.

Health Department Key Contacts of District Hamirpur

S.No. Officer Contact No.
1 Chief Medical Officer (CMO) 8005192661
2 Chief Medical Superintendent (CMS), Male Hospital 9919808761
3 Chief Medical Superintendent (CMS), Women Hospital 9415093353
4 District Tuberculosis Officr (DTO) 9415187009
5 District leprosy Officr (DLO) 9415187009
6 District Malariya Officer(DMO) 9452123162
7 District Homeopathic Medical Officer(DHO) 9415426937
8 Divisional Ayurvedic and Unani Office (DAUO) 9450264538

Details Of CHCs and PHCs In The District (At Tehsil Level)

Tehsil Name No. of CHC No. of PHC
Hamirpur 1 1
Sarila 1 1
Maudaha 2
Rath 2

Health department is further divided into three(3) categories:


It is a system of medical practice that aims to combat disease by the use of remedies producing effects. The main aim of this department is to provide vaccination to the people against various diseases like swine flu etc. to prevent the disease. It also helps provide help in under nourished children.


It is a system of medical practice in which ailments are treated by minute doses of natural substances in larger amounts, which produce symptoms of the ailment. This department is managed by District Homeopathic Officer.


Ayurveda, which literally means the science of life (Ayur = Life, Veda = Science), Ayurveda is an ancient medical science which was developed in India thousands of years ago.This department is managed by district Ayurvedic Officer.

Ambulance Service

108 is predominantly an emergency response system, primarily designed to attend to patients of critical care, trauma and accident victims etc.

102 services essentially consist of basic patient transport aimed to cater the needs of pregnant women and children though other categories are also taking benefit and are not excluded. JSSK entitlements e.g. free transfer from home to facility, inter facility transfer in case of referral and drop back for mother and children are the key focus of 102 service.

Local Medical Institutions

At the local governance level, there are CHCs and PHCs to assist the citizens. CHC stands for Community Health Centre having a bed capacity of 30, PHC stands for Primary Health Centre and SHC stand for Sub-Health Centre.

Objectives Of Community Health Centers

  • To make available medical treatment and the related facilities for citizens.
  • To provide appropriate advice, treatment and support that would help to cure the ailment to the extent medically possible.
  • To ensure that treatment is best on well-considered judgment, is timely and comprehensive and with the consent of the citizen being treated.
  • To ensure you just awareness of the nature of the ailment, progress of treatment, duration of treatment and impact on their health and lives, and To reduce any grievances in this regard.

The CHC in Hamirpur  District has-

  • OPD timings : 8 am – 2 pm
  • Emergency – 24 hrs

It has various facilities like:

  • OPD Services for Indoor Patients
  • Test Facilities
  • X-Ray facilities
  • Operation facilities
  • Ambulance facility (108,102)
  • Abortion
  • Delivery
  • Required/ Complicated delivery
  • Immunization
  • Complaint Book
  • Eye Cure
  • Leprosy cure
  • Immunization of TB, Polio, Diphtheria, Tetanus, Whooping Cough and Measles in Infants.
  • Publicity of AIDS.
  • Registration of death and birth.
  • Free Oral Contraceptive pills, Condom Pieces.

Schemes of Health Department

Janani Suraksha Yojana

Janani Suraksha Yojana (JSY) is a safe motherhood intervention under the National Rural Health Mission (NHM). It is being implemented with the objective of reducing maternal and neonatal mortality by promoting institutional delivery among poor pregnant women. The scheme is under implementation in all states and Union Territories (UTs), with a special focus on Low Performing States (LPS).

Janani Shishu Suraksha Karyakaram (JSSK)

Government of India has launched Janani Shishu Suraksha Karyakaram (JSSK) on 1st June, 2011. The scheme is estimated to benefit more than 12 million pregnant women who access Government health facilities for their delivery. Moreover it will motivate those who still choose to deliver at their homes to opt for institutional deliveries. It is an initiative with a hope that states would come forward and ensure that benefits under JSSK would reach every needy pregnant woman coming to government institutional facility. All the States and UTs have initiated implementation of the scheme.